#Happy

RB Book Club Selection: Slow Burn by Nicole Christie

Welcome to the RB Book Club! 

Our Selection for today: Slow Burn by Nicole Christie


Blurb:

It’s the beginning of senior year, and seventeen year old Juliet Somers has made the rash decision to transfer to her boyfriend’s school in an effort to spend more time with him. Sexy bad boy Johnny Parker is a legend at Leclare Academy, and Juliet still can’t believe that an average girl like her was able to tame his wild ways. She can’t wait to start her new school with him by her side.

But one night, Johnny’s self-destructive habits lead to a stunning betrayal–and Juliet realizes she’s made a huge mistake. Now she’s stuck at a school where she doesn’t fit in, and all the girls seem to hate her guts. Even worse, Johnny is determined to get her back, pulling crazy stunts to win her forgiveness. Juliet is resigned to being an outcast for the rest of her senior year, with no friends, and no clue what she wants to do with her life.

Things start to look up when she gets to know some of Johnny’s friends, and finds that some of them are really good guys. With the help of an unlikely ally at her side, Juliet begins to think her situation is not as bad as it seems. As the school year rolls on, she opens herself up to new experiences, makes some huge mistakes, and discovers things about herself she’s not sure she likes.

Juliet resolves to stay strong against Johnny’s seductive tactics, but it’s becoming increasingly harder to deny she still has feelings for him. Will she risk her heart to him again–or will a hot contender manage to sweep her off her feet?

Before Reading:
I wanted to get on to a next book right away, so when I asked RB for my next read she asked me what kind of story I was looking for. I told her it was purely up to her but I would prefer a kooky lovey dovey highschool romance, so I guess that kinda eliminated the “purely up to you” statement(?) Oh well. She named a few books and decided on a book named “Slow Burn” by Nicole Christie.
 I was then threatened FIERCELY and I mean FIERCELY with a capital F- Tyra Banks can’t even compare to how much FIERCE this threat had. Anyways, I was FIERCELY threatened to back away from Dean Youngblood because he is RB’s boyfriend, except for the fact that he’s fictional and has no clue about it… Yet. Ever.
I had a hard time finding the book tho because I was looking for a blurb with Dean Youngblood being mentioned and I only found one with a certain Johnny Parker being mentioned.
Tip: They don’t have the book in ePub, so use http://tuebl.ca/. Thanks, RB! 
After Reading: 
I am going to say one bad thing because I can’t think of any other “bad thing(s)” to say. The grammar and spelling was pretty bad at some parts of the book. The words were also very selective and not very flowery, but as Earnest Hemmingway said, “Big words don’t mean big emotions.” It also worked with the theme and background, so the lack of flowery in the book didn’t really bother me. The over-all feel, felt like my friends were making me kwento or I was the one blabbing about my personal problems, so it made me feel really easy going. I laughed so hard in some parts of the books and openly got kilig with matching unconscious smiles while reading the book. The worst part was when I read the book in public people would start staring at me for giving my phone googly eyes. My friends even thought I was texting a new guy I just met because I looked like I got a very #kiligerz text. HA! Me pa… Yeah, there are so many fish in the sea, but Id rather sun bathe.
There were times wherein I found Juliet Somers so totes relates, but there were some times where I was simply screaming (Take note simply screaming) at her for being a dumb basic betch who should’ve chose DEAN right away! I don’t give two flying fruit cakes what Johnny thinks. He’s been with tons of other girls after them, so why can’t she have her Dean Cake? Okay, so yeah he’s Johnny’s step brother, but hey Johnny’s a douche. It practically ties them, right? If I were in her place tho, I would share the same indecisiveness. Can’t really blame the girl.
I was such a happy duckling during the Jean (Juliet+Dean) days! BOYS BETTER TAKE FREAKING FOOT NOTES! Maybe, just maybe, I would start fishing if boys like Dean Youngblood start knocking on my freaking door. I might probably even start knocking on their doors. Literally. Okay, maybe that’s a bit too much, but yeah… You get my point right? He has to be there for you when you need him and your relationship shouldn’t just be the heart stopping, erotic, libido rising kinds. So yeah, GOOD JOB DEAN YOUNGBLOOD! I don’t care if you’re fictitious. You’re going places! Love you! So much. Really. Love. You. Call Me.
I love this book.
Food for thought: There was a film way way back, when your momma was still hotter than a chinchilla, wherein they made a movie called “Youngblood” about a hockey player named Dean Youngblood- OHMAHGAWD! Right? Anyways, he was played by Rob Lowe- a very young, hot, and totally gorg Rob Lowe, who isn’t 51 and secretly bald (Blame The Interview).
dean youngblood
I pixilated it for you, so we can get that image set into our minds and hearts.
HUBA. HUBA. Mika Likey.

Love your bae,

Mika Reyes
Standard

Leave a Reply

